Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Columbia Data Science Institute

Foundations for Research Computing Distinguished Lecture Series: Dr. Eric Xing, Professor, Department of Machine Learning, Carnegie Mellon University Founder, Chief Executive Officer, and Chief Scientist, Petuum, Inc.

Thursday, November 8, 2018
4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Lecture
5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. Reception
Brown Institute | 2nd Floor, Pulitzer Hall (2950 Broadway)
Dr. Eric P. Xing is Founder, CEO and Chief Scientist at Petuum Inc. He is a Professor in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. He is also the Associate Department Head for Research of the Machine Learning Department and the Founding Director of the Center for Machine Learning and Health at CMU. For his distinguished contributions in AI/ML, he was elected a Fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI).
Dr. Xing is a thought and innovation leader in Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence. His principal research interests are in the development of machine learning and statistical methodology and large-scale computational system and architectures, for solving problems involving automated learning, reasoning, and decision-making in high-dimensional, multimodal, and dynamic complex systems. His pioneering research has created numerous AI/ML foundational techniques, such as the Parameter Server, distance metric learning, distributed network inference, dynamic networks, dynamic nonparametric Bayesian models, spectral graphical models, and variational inference. He has authored or co-authored over 300 publications, while receiving multiple Best Paper Awards.
Dr. Xing is a board member of the International Machine Learning Society, program chair and general chair of the International Conference of Machine Learning (ICML), and a former member of the U.S. Department of Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Information Science and Technology (ISAT) Advisory group. He is the recipient of numerous awards including: The National Science Foundation (NSF) Career Award; Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in Computer Science; United States Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award; and the IBM Open Collaborative Research Faculty Award.